What is Interreg? 

Interreg is a synonym of "European Territorial Cooperation"(ETC) and is part of the so-called "Cohesion Policy" of the European Union. To put it simply, Interreg (or ETC) is a way to get European regions closer to each other and to boost their cooperation. 

The overarching objective of Interreg is to promote a harmonious economic, social and territorial development of the European Union as a whole. Over the years, Interreg has become a key instrument to support cooperation between partners across borders. The aim: to tackle common challenges together and find shared solutions - whether in the field of health, research and education, transport or sustainable energy.

INTERREG "What Interreg has done?"

European Commission - EUinmyRegion

Interreg is built around three strands of cooperation:

1. Cross-border (Interreg A) for border regions (for example, Friuli Venezia Giulia Region in Italy and Primorska Region in Slovenia): it aims to tackle common challenges identified jointly in the border regions and to exploit the untapped growth potential in border areas, while enhancing the cooperation process for the purposes of the overall harmonious development of the Union.

2. Transnational (Interreg B) involves regions from several countries of the EU forming bigger areas (for example, Portugal, Spain and Southern France): it aims to promote better cooperation and regional development within the Union by a joint approach to tackle common issues. This strand supports a wide range of project investment related to innovation, environment, accessibility, telecommunications, urban development etc. 

3. Interregional (Interreg C) works at pan-European level, covering all EU Member States, and more. It builds networks to develop good practices and facilitate the exchange and transfer of experience by successful regions. It showcases what regions do well, to the benefit of those still investing. 

Any Interreg Programme, National Authority and Project beneficiary can become an IVY host organisation. From May 2019, also Interreg Programmes and Projects located in Switzerland, some countries members of the European Economic Area (EEA), namely Norway, Liechtenstein, Iceland, and some countries involved in Pre-Accession Assistance Cross-border Co-operation Programmes (IPA-CBC), notably Serbia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, and Turkey, are eligible to host volunteers under the initiative “Interreg Volunteer Youth”.

Find out more about Interreg here

© 2017 - 2019 Association of European Border Regions

Co-funded by the