About interreg

Fostering Cooperation

Interreg stands for European Territorial Cooperation and is part of the European Union’s Cohesion Policy, its regional policy which aims to reduce the disparities between Europe’s regions and provides support to each region to foster their development.

Through project funding, Interreg supports cooperation among European regions so that they can find solutions to common challenges together, and broadly share the results with other actors.

about interreg

Interreg's Priorities

Through the projects, Interreg programmes contribute to the implementation of the EU Cohesion Policy’s main priorities:

How cooperation works

There are four different Interreg strands:

Cross-border cooperation, known as Interreg A, supports cooperation between regions which share a common border. For example, Friuli Venezia Giulia Region in Italy and Primorska Region in Slovenia. It aims to find practical solutions to common challenges in the border regions and reduce differences on the two sides of the border.

Transnational cooperation, known as Interreg B, involves regions from several countries of the EU that form a larger area. For example, the area around the Danube river or the Baltic Sea. it aims to promote better cooperation and regional development within those areas and to test new solutions to resolve identified common challenges.

Interregional cooperation, known as Interreg C, operates on a broader European level, covering all EU Member States and certain neighbouring countries. It builds networks among regions to share innovative and sustainable solutions to regional development challenges.

Outermost regions’ cooperation, Interreg D, aims to integrate Europe’s most remote regions in their neighborhood through cooperation with their neighbouring countries and territories. Five cooperation programmes cover the outermost regions.

European Territorial Cooperation also involves regions outside the European Union through two specific programmes:

Interreg IPA CBC (Pre-Accession Assistance Cross-border Co-operation) supports cross-border cooperation between candidate countries, potential candidate countries and EU Member States, to contribute in their accession preparations with a territorial and cross-border focus
Neighbourhood Cross-border Co-operation Programmes (ENI-CBC)/Interreg NEXT cover the borders with the European Union’s neighbouring countries

Find out more about Interreg here


© 2024 Interreg Volunteer Youth - All rights reserved